Apollo Connecting the World

Diligence and Intelligence

SSH: a window poped “enter password to unlock the private key”

with 2 comments

I met with this situation:
I created RSA keypair for ssh and copied my public key onto a remote machine B. (Note that in order to create the ssh keypair, you have to enter the passphrase.) So I hoped I could ssh to B without typing password every time.

And I came up with a problem:
Every time I wanted to ssh to the machine B, there was a window (I use Gnome) poped with “enter password to unlock the private key”. What I can do is either enter the password (and it is not your own password nor the login password to B) and click “OK”, or click “Deny”. If you enter the wrong password, you will not ssh. If you click “Deny”, you are asked to input password to ssh to B, like you ssh to B before when you have not copied the public RSA key onto B.

How to solve it?
I finally tried the passphrase (used to create the ssh RSA keypair) as the password, and click “OK”, and it worked! And I was not asked to enter the login password to B. And this window was not poped again.

I do not know what is the key reason of this window poping problem. But I can ssh now. Maybe I can find out why in the future, or maybe anyone read this article kindly tell me what on earth cause that problem. 🙂

Written by apollozhao

2010/03/16 at 14:38

Posted in Linux, ssh

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi!thank you for your entry.I searched the internet to solve the probleme.But only this worked !!!

    liberte

    2012/11/27 at 21:27

  2. Thanks in support of sharing such a pleasant opinion, piece
    of writing is pleasant, thats why i have read it completely

    anal sex

    2013/07/20 at 03:44


Leave a Reply

